DIOR REVIEW: PART 1, DIOR SKINCARE REVIEW

On the last second day of 2014, I officially converted. It’s official.

6a014e5f228375970c017d41950cd1970c-800wi

To a beauty junkie. Product junkie.What a good way to end 2014!

I love shopping for beauty/ skincare products. Also shopping in general, hahaπŸ˜› Words cannot express my love for shopping. Call me materialistic, but my favorite books of all time is Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. I am Rebecca Bloomwood.Top favorite hobby, job now: I am obsessed in trying out, reviewing and rating products in skincare and beauty. I guess I would love to search for a blog that contains honest feedback on the products, without blindly giving them love or just saying “oh you know its so good!” kinda thing. It really does’nt show me anything, or tell me much. πŸ˜’

So I’ve been getting a lot of requests from my followers, shoppers and friends that I should start blogging and reviewing products, which I mean… Sounds fun! In the following reviews I make, I will go brand by brand, or have a general theme. I hope to sniff out πŸ‘ƒ the best deals, products, sales, discounts of the products.Β  I will be very unbiased and straightforward, as I am not paid/ sponsored (or if I am I will still give an honest review) as I feel that astroturfing (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Astroturfing) will not do me, or my reputation any good.

So, my thoughts on Dior Skincare? Let’s find out!

Dior

Being a VIB Rouge in Sephora USA, I decided to try out the free makeover services they offer to this tier of members. I called in and I was really lucky to get Sara Pierce, a Dior Regional Trainer for most East Coast states in USA to do my make up and to make me feel beautiful πŸ™† Thanks Sarah!

She first sat me down and asked me what kind of look I was looking for. At that point of time, I just finished final exams and was looking really tired and sleep deprived. I told her I wanted to cover my eyebagsπŸ’€ (lol) and I desperately need to look refreshed for my date night. I let her make major decisions as I trusted her (afterall I am not professionally trained) and she just asked me for opinions. Afterall, our face is an empty piece of canvas that has limitless creativity and options ✌.We clicked off really well and all I wanted was red lips because the only lipstick I had in my bag then was CHANEL PIRATE. πŸ’„ I wanted to make sure reapplication was possible.

Step 1. Skincare/ Prepping the skin for make up

Skincare is essential. It’s the base of everything. When you have problems with your skin, you should be rectifying the problem (using skincare) instead of covering the problem (make up). Make up should be steps in bringing out your best features and making you look even more gorgeous!πŸŽ€ Man, did Sara pamper my skin. During exam periods, I am a sloth. A complete lazy, outfit mismatched, GHASTLY looking student. Too busy to do make up, I skip steps in my beauty, skincare routines. Afterall chugging coffee, sleeping late, and snacking on the worst things ever kills even the best skin so I kinda gave up…😞 BUT Sarah salvaged my skin and revived it with some quintessential products from Dior Skincare.

Left to Right: Steps of Skincare

Left to Right: Steps of Skincare

Firstly, the ONE ESSENTIAL INTENSE SKIN DETOXIFYING BOOSTER SERUM, USD $100, (http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/detoxify-regenerate-boost/pr-detoxifyboost-Y0730340-intense-skin-detoxifying-booster-serum.html). All in all, this serum is to detoxify, regenerate, energize, boost the skin from the toxins that the skin is exposed to everyday. I guess finals just made me have more toxins on my skin so this was the perfect rescue to it. Women of all ages or skin type can use this (as said by Dior’s product introduction), and I was like really skeptical. yeah obviously you would say that… BUT I honestly think they are pretty true to their statement, #legit. Why? After initial application, I did find my skin softer, and more supple. It felt like my tortured skin was no longer dehydrated, and has been fed with nutrients. It had a cooling, tingling effect as well that made me go “ahhhh” πŸ˜‡. Most importantly this is a non greasy formula, which is perfect for layering and using it to prep your skin for make up.

Secondly, is the EYES ESSENTIAL EYE SERUM, USD $72, (http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/detoxify-regenerate-boost/pr-detoxifyboost-Y0637310-eye-zone-boosting-super-serum.html) from again, the ONE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION. I am very concerned with my eye bags, and dark eye circles. I use make up because I want to hide my dark eye circles and to make me more human looking instead of looking like a panda 🐼🐼🐼!!! I often tell my peers that I would need to rectify this problem NOW else I might have to resort to cosmetic surgery (which is crazy expensive) when I get a bit older. In my attempt to nip the problem from the bud, I tried numerous eye creams/ serums but did not find one that truly suits my needs. This seems to be my answer! Again, this range (ONE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION) is to troubleshoot the skin from external toxins, and to regenerate your skin. Finally, a clear solution in exterminating my worries…TAKE MY MONEYπŸ’° $72 is not cheap for a student, but I did my math. This eye serum can last me for at least 6 months, and all I need is a tiny drop (rice grain sized) pump every time for two eyes. Pretty worth it I guess after doing my sums! Eye serums are often the most expensive in the whole skincare range, so I hope this hefty investment would reap me good returns!

P.S- 2 weeks after I used this eye serum, it really did help to make my dark eye circles go away. My puffiness in the morning is also greatly reduced. I guess sleeping early, eating clean are major external factors that really did help to boost the effects of this serum too!

Thirdly, HYDRO LIFE MOISTURIZING CREME, USD $56, http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/youth-hydration/pr-hydralifesblnn-Y0320520-sorbet-creme.html. According to Sara, this is one of the best top sellers of DIOR Skincare. Coming from a tropical climate country with humid summer weather all year round, I hate the stickiness of facial creams and the mixture of sweat, and dirt. Eww, just eww 😫😫😫. A moisturizer too light cannot solve my skin problems, and something too heavy is just not wearable in that climate. This seems to be a good fix as the texture of the creme is light, and watery. It seems to be more water-based than oil-based, and provides hydration for any kinds of skin. Sara also said this is good for all skin types including sensitive skin. I have sensitive skin and this did not cause any allergic reactions on my skin, so we are good to go πŸ‘ (but then again please do an arm testΒ  first before you use/ purchase it because different skin reacts differently). I also like how little product is used every single time for application, this just means that I will be able to minimize product wastage. However, I often find it unhygienic for bottled creams as I often wonder… Every time I twist the lid of the cream, use Q tip (DO NOT USE FINGERS, THEY INVITE MORE GERMS) to get product out, isn’t that exposing the product to more external dust, dirt and bacteria 😳 This product would be more awesome if it comes in a tube as it has lesser exposed area. Because…less product packaging means less exposed area, yes?

Forth, we used CAPTURE TOTALE DREAM SKIN GLOBAL AGE-DEFYING SKINCARE PERFECT SKIN CREATOR, USD $110, http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/global-anti-ageing-and-perfection/pr-globalantiageingnn-Y0292320-global-age-defying-skincare-perfect-skin-creator.html . You must be thinking why I am starting anti-aging at 21 years old. There is no age restrictions on when you should start anti aging! Troubleshoot your problems, and address your issues as early as possible! This product’s main usage is to treat your skin, combating age and making your overall skin appearance better. I guess this might be just an all in one miracle bottle, but I’m steering away from this for now because the price tag is pretty hefty too, and I have to resort to less expensive alternatives. I also have a more straightforward skincare routine (Cleanser, Toner, Moisturizer, Face Oil, Eye Serum, Spot Treatment) so this is something “extra” that I do not need now because some products do overlap.

Lastly, CAPTURE TOTALE INSTANT RESCUE EYE TREATMENT MULTI-PERFECTION, USD $100, http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/global-anti-ageing-and-perfection/pr-globalantiageingnn-Y0610450-instant-rescue-eye-treatment-multi-perfection.html. I guess my eye bags did scare Sara a bit and she had to give me this instant perk me up for my eyes. The main difference between this and the serum I got is this eye treatment is more targeted for puffiness and dark circles. It comes with this Palladium-coated massage applicator and has a specific massage routine for your eyes. When I applied this…Β  My first instinct was…

tumblr_n9s9vgLHIZ1smcbm7o1_500

Around my eyes πŸ‘€ ! This cold tingly unknown sensation to me was no stranger because that is what eye treatments are supposed to do, but somehow, I felt a strange itchy feeling around my eyes after applying this. Guess this product is a no go because I did not want to risk having an infection or an allergic reaction!

All in all, out of these 5 products I tried, I liked the EYES ESSENTIAL EYE SERUM, USD $72, (http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/detoxify-regenerate-boost/pr-detoxifyboost-Y0637310-eye-zone-boosting-super-serum.html)Β Β 

and

HYDRO LIFE MOISTURIZING CREME, USD $56, http://www.dior.com/beauty/en_us/fragrance-and-beauty/skincare/skin-concerns/youth-hydration/pr-hydralifesblnn-Y0320520-sorbet-creme.html.

the most. For students, the price point is definitely higher, but these two products addresses my concerns directly and showed me definite results in two weeks. I bought the EYES ESSENTIAL SERUM that day too, and they had a promotional eye kit http://www.polyvore.com/dior_capture_totale_eyes_essential/thing?id=89534515 which came with their deluxe sample sized signature lash primer + mascara at USD $74, which was a steal. I attached the link here, and I guess those interested can still try your luck in stores! Sara also kindly fed me with samples of various products, and a deluxe sample version of the creme, which I really appreciate! From the harshest winter to the most humid sunny weather, this creme is going to be my first choice now too! I also like skincare with little, or no scent. I find that really distracting (especially when I sleep because the smell lingers around 😐). These products have little, or light scents that is acceptable, and within my acceptance range!

I hope this first review on DIOR SKINCARE has been beneficial, and please leave me comments, and questions! What products do you rave about from DIOR SKINCARE? What do you not like from DIOR SKINCARE?

Also, as this is my first (official) beauty review… Please, give me feedback and I will be more than happy to improve! My apologies if this is really lengthy, I like to be more explicit in my commentary, πŸ˜‚

My next post is going to be on DIOR MAKE UP 😍😍😍 ft their signature lip balm, lash primer and that airbrush foundation… Stay tuned!

xoxo, Love Lynn

Leave a comment